The 4th International Pharos Contemporary Music Festival

Friday 28 September 2012
The Shoe Factory, Nicosia / 8:30pm

El Perro Andaluz
Albrecht Scharnweber / clarinet
Yuri Matsuzaki / flute (guest flutist)
Torsten Reitz / piano
Seong-Ryeom Lee / percussion
Emily Yabe / violin
Jakob Andert / cello
Lennart Dohms / conductor

Founded in 2007 after a project with the composer Brian Ferneyhough in Dresden the ensemble El Perro Andaluz became quickly one of Germany’s most exciting young ensembles for contemporary music. The cultural background of its members as well as the highly acclaimed level of interpretation led the Ensemble to become a partner with composers such as H. Lachenmann, R. Saunders, A. Hölszky, V. Tarnopolski, H. Hellstenius, G. Katzer and others. The Ensemble’s vision to reflect the position of New Music into the society is revealed through the wide range of musical activity – ranging from installation, opera productions and concerts to educational projects. El Perro Andaluz was awarded the Kulturförderpreis of the city of Dresden in 2011. Alongside its projects in Germany, the Ensemble is invited this year to Spain, England and Austria, where it holds in this season the position of Ensemble in residence of the university Mozarteum Salzburg.

Ivan Fedele (b. 1953) Immagini da Escher (2005)
Sophia Serghi World premiere
Iannis Xenakis (1922 – 2001) Plekto for sextet (1993)
Thomas Simaku (b. 1958) A2 for violin & cello (2008)
Brian Herrington World premiere
Nicolaus A. Huber (b. 1939) La force du vertige for flute, clarinet, violin, cello & piano (1985)

Information: Pharos Arts Foundation Tel. +35722663871 /
Tickets: €20 Adults / €15 Members of the Foundation, Concessions
Box Office: Tel. 7000-9304 (daily 9.30-11.30am) /